He’s Always Tale-Spinner To Me.

(Parody of Billy Joel – Always A Woman To Me)

Music Link

He can charm with a smile or with a wink of his eye.
He can play at the fool or act terribly wise
And he’s never quite truthful as far as I see.
Well his nametag says Nim, but he’s always Tale-Spinner to me.

He’ll regal you with stories, He’ll entrance you with song.
Then he’ll rewrite the lore till it’s really quite wrong.
And he’ll brag about wives numbered twelve, five, or three.
Oh, I can’t keep it straight cause he’s always Tale-Spinner to me.

Oooooooh, He is sometimes a rogue
Or quite often absurd, when he sings so obscene.
Oooooooh, And he never gets stuck, or gets tongue-tied with words.
He just rewrites the scene.

And he’ll promise he’s traveled from Gondor to Bree.
Waxed poetic with dragons, had wizards for tea
Then he’ll claim he taught Earendil love of the sea.
He insists his names Nim, but he’s always Tale-Spinner to me.

Oooooooh, He is sometimes a rogue
Or quite often absurd, when he sings so obscene.
Oooooooh, And he never gets stuck, or gets tongue-tied with words.
He just rewrites the scene.

He is frequently dodgy with facts and with rules.
But I don’t mind his teases, it’s one of his tools.
When the fire is lit, I sit down and forget
That he’s just a Tale-Spinner to me.

2 thoughts on “He’s Always Tale-Spinner To Me.

    • Oh! It has been so long, but I think I picked at it over several days, so maybe a couple hours in total.

      It came about because one of my friends always referred to my character The Nimrodellian Tale-Spinner as Tale-Spinner instead of the more informal Nim like everyone else. One day someone was playing a version of She’s Always A Woman To Me and my friend blurted out ‘He’s always Tale-Spinner to me’ and I just knew I had to make that into a full song 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

